Itinerary suggestions:best chance at seeing wolves

Questions about trails and campsites on the island.

Moderator: MikeT

nicadimus
NewbieCake

Itinerary suggestions:best chance at seeing wolves

Post by nicadimus »

Hi there!!!!

New to this forum and new to the idea of backpacking IR!! I have some experience packing into the BWCA.. But that's it... I would love to experience IR with my husband and 12 year old son!!! We love hiking, adventure and camping so this excursion seems like a perfect fit!!!

Of course the appeal of possibly hearing or even seeing a wolf(slim chances I know)... Is even more exciting!!!

When planning our trip I would love to keep this in mind? There must be certain areas or spots where the wolves are more likely to congregate?

Would love to plan a backpacking trip from the west side of the island to the east... 5-6 days? With hopefully the best chance at spotting a wolf :) thinking end of August?

Thoughts? Suggestions?
Tampico
May actually live on IR
Isle Royale Visits: 4

Re: Itinerary suggestions:best chance at seeing wolves

Post by Tampico »

There are so few wolves left on the island right now, I'd say your chances are about zero. There are a million other reasons to love the park, though.
bergman
Trailblazer
Isle Royale Visits: 16

Post by bergman »

The official count right now is 9 (6 in the chippewa harbor pack; 2 in the west end of the park, that mated last winter and may have had pups, but that will not be known until the research team makes their observations from jan15-march 6; and one loner). 9 wolves in 210 square miles of park. Chances are better than finding a needle in a haystack though, at least of hearing a member of the chippewa pack (not sure if a full moon helps!).
The research team never divulges the location of dens, and they are the only ones lucky enough to see (from their small plane) wolves congregate on a snow-covered lake or asleep after a moose kill or waiting on an injured moose.